Portraits –

Just playing around with ideas around portraiture..various people have been very tolerant and agreed to sit for me.

I really like this piece of my cousin Sarah and uncle Jimmy sitting in our front garden.  You can’t see it but there was a lovely strong smell from the paving slabs which are planted up with thyme.

Angi and Gordon sat on stiff upright chairs in front of a much more immobile background..capturing a much more historic classical approach.  I suppose I was thinking of some of the very formally composed portraits of couples and families I saw at the August Sander exhibition.  He experimented with the man sitting and the woman standing in one, and then the opposite way around in the next image.  I asked them to sit beside each other both facing the camera, and I like the result very much.

One thought on “Portraits –

Leave a Reply

