Everyday Exploration – of a pond.

My exploration of the pond was the first action in researching the everyday, the project for this term at Glasgow School of Art.    It is the first of a number of ideas I have in response to the brief which I plan to kick off by making video sketches..the others are all in motion but I am not in a position to start filming yet.

I had another go.. this is from the perspective of the camera…it really was very very cold!  I may need to bring my dry suit down.

I keep being asked why I did this. 

I am not 100% sure.  Possibly because I am filled with curiosity about what goes on under the surface, it is a place of great mystery.  I spend hours sitting watching creatures (mainly frogs) emerge and resubmerge again, so I tried to see them under the surface but all was dark.  Also it was about blurring boundaries and mediums..water, air, flower bed, moving between them…just as the frogs do, and re-emerging covered in pond weed.

It was also a bit inspired by the mapping project and a wish to know my environment better.

One thought on “Everyday Exploration – of a pond.

  1. Hi Carrie, great to chat this evening. Swimming to nowhere with snorkel and goggles. Hmm – that makes a story in itself! If you are interested in praxis then (apart from Aristotle) you might want to read Neal Stephenson’s booK Anathem – I know you said you don’t like spec-fic, but this is a whole intellectual analysis of the notion of praxis vs cult, of theory vs belief and of the way parallel worlds might (or might not) be reflected in the way quantum mechanics tell us the way the universe works. Talk soon and watch out for an Edinburgh consultancy/interim management shaped hole!

Leave a Reply

