My sister

This is a portrait of my sister from a photograph I took of her 24 years ago on top of Bheinn a’Bheithir above Ballachulish.  I really like the photograph, which captured a very characteristic expression.

I am not sure about this portrait; it is a pencil drawing on tracing paper over an oil painting on tracing paper.  I certainly have a greater respect for portrait painters as a result.

This has been an opportunity for me to explore the idea that my understanding of a person is unique to me, and sits within a particular context.  For example my sister is the same person to me today as 24 years ago atop a munro.  Since then she has been wife, mother, daughter, daughter-in-law, lawyer, mediator, manager, etc to a whole host of different people.

Leave a Reply

