Pause for 2 minutes and 43 seconds

while watching the kettle boil, for starters.  I have spent a lot of time waiting with tetchy impatience for kettles to boil in the past, but this time it was very fast.. exactly one litre of cold water from the tap.

How long did it take me to eat the 4 oysters yesterday evening.  I wish I had timed it but it was probably about the same time, especially if I exclude the pauses in between each one.  (I might have to go and buy some more to experiment.)

I planned to spend 2 minutes 43 seconds just listening to the waves and being still, and then the same amount of time thinking about my brief for college.  It didn’t work at all.  Despite the serene situation my head was full of worry and stress about how to take my brief forward.  It may not show..

One thought on “Pause for 2 minutes and 43 seconds

  1. The kettle experiment reminded me of a bit of archaic physics knowledge!

    The specific heat capacity of water i.e. the energy to raise the temperature of 1 litre of water by 1 degree C is 4186 joules, so working backwards & assuming a temperature change from the tap to approx 95C I could work out the kW rating of the kettle to do this in 2m 43s (with an adjustment for the efficiency of the element) Unfortunately I cannot remember the bit of calculation that converts the joules bit to kW!

    Hmmmm Time as we discussed is an abstract thing!!!

Leave a Reply

