painting #4

For anyone who travels to the West Highlands via the motorway system the road sign to Crianlarich is the one that matters: it signals the transition from boredom to bliss; a confirmation that one is headed the right way. 

I really enjoyed doing this painting, totally concentrating on the tip of the brush and the mark it was making.  I felt I had just been there for a wee while, but when I checked my watch it was past midnight.  Although the subject matter is to a certain extent about wishing time away, the experience of making it was the opposite. 

I did this for my father, he turns 80 on Sunday, and he has been doing this journey all his life.  Happy Birthday Dad.IMG_5997

Leave a Reply

