Stopping and stillness / painting stress #3

Watching paint drying was very interesting.  About just concentrating on the the moment and the process, and being aware that this is all I need to be doing.  More normally I am doing several things in my head at the same time, mental chatter, meaning there is often little real focus on the task in hand.  Actually, it was not that easy to stay focused on the paint drying all the time, and there were a lot of distractions, but even so the exercise was insightful.

I took a photograph on my mobile phone of the patterns under the chair of the seat I usually sit on in church, as I see it every week when my head is bowed.  Actually, like watching paint drying, it is a time when I pause each week and am just in the moment.. if possible.. and so is a weekly interrruption to my human rantiformity.

DSC00043

4 thoughts on “Stopping and stillness / painting stress #3

  1. Interesting…. just Google’d “rantiformity” & the only reference to it is in your blog!

    I’m not sure from the photo, but are you trying to capture a transient shadow? if so that is a pretty difficult thing to do…. I have to think more about what shadows are, or rather what interests me more is the the space between the object (casting the shadow) & the shadow itself, i.e. the “ether” between the two.

    • Hi John, it is a frequent shadow, it is always there when the lights are on and so is the chair. Is a shadow 2d or 3d. The space in between the verticle and the horizontal is obviously not empty as it is busy moving light- or absence of it.

      Knowing me, I thought you would be well familiar with the condition of rantiformity!

  2. Hmmm are shadows 2D or 3D? Interesting question that may take some time to answer due to the properties of light i.e. waves & particles etc. In some ways a shadow is the absence of projection from the light source, think of sun shining through a gap in clouds where you can see the shadow & direct sunlight on a hill. Also consider the effect that a distant point source of light will cast a harder edged shadow than say a closer positioned flood light which would cause different shadow fringes i.e. softer edges to the shadow.

    Also think of a shadow cast on a flat surface compared to a gravel path…..

    Hmmm interesting!

    • I once took some amazing photos flying only a few hundred feet over the Sussex Weald when the sun was very low on a winter afternoon, every hedge, hump and mole hill took on huge proportions with giant shadows. It was pre-digital and I have no idea where the photo is now..
      Sun streaming through a gap in the clouds ( a Jacob’s ladder) is the opposite of a shadow.. ie a beam of light rather than a beam of light-excludedness.. I love just stting and watching the interplay of sunlight and cloud

Leave a Reply

